argos•co•uk•shopgift•win as opposed to argos•co•uk/shopgift•win
This made me a bit suspicious so I did a WHOIS search to find out a bit more by pasting the full link here http://whois.domaintools.com/
It returned this page http://whois.domaintools.com/shopgift.win telling me that the domain was registered 3 days ago. It also made it very clear (look at the lack of argos in that link) what the domain actually was. So I don't think it's really from Argos.
Firefox also helpfully greys out bits of addresses to highlight what's the domain and what might not be.
![]() |
| shopgift•win is in black text, it's not really argos.co.uk |
| argos.co.uk is in black |
... clicking on that tells me the same thing as above (useful info from Facebook which is a plus)
The voucher page asks questions and invites you to share a Facebook link - I'd recommend ignoring it. As I didn't find any other information about it on Google, Argos' page or on social media I thought I'd write this up in case anyone else was wondering if it was real and searched, as I did. I'm not exactly sure what the purpose of this is other than to get a link shared and perhaps access Facebook information.


