There are a quite a few websites that advertise Phen375 fat burning slimming pills. There are probably quite a few more of the websites that don't. At least not as obviously. Instead those websites review diet and weight loss pills, or tell you 'the truth' about them. Or at least they imply that they do.
If someone has just heard about some new weight loss pills they might not be quite convinced that the pills are the real deal so, when looking on Google, they might be tempted to add words like 'scam' or 'fake' to their search keywords to find wesites that are critical (and perhaps they'll be reassured by not finding any).
However anyone searching for these terms is still likely to be taken to review sites which will help visitors to buy the product.
I can't remember when I first noticed the rather clever use, by pill sellers, of words like scam in blogs (subtly embedded in the text or address) to bring in the punters - it's what people are searching for after all. Genius ;) It also presumably swamps any legitimate sites that are providing genuine information about complaints, forcing them off the front page of Google results.
Phen375 seems to be a popular weight loss pill which is sold, along with tens of others, by the MoreNiche affiliate people. The briefest of Google searches found a selection of sites, many of which contain the words 'scam' or 'fake' in the website itself or its web address. All the websites in the list below contain a code that ensures that any sale made (when visitors click through to the selling site) will pay a dividend to an affiliate from MoreNiche. Commission varies but might be around 30 per cent.
Some MoreNiche tracked sites for Phen375; they all point to http://phen375.com/ (1)
Some MoreNiche tracked sites for Phen375; they all point to http://phen375.com/ (1)
- http://bestfatburnerguide.com/phen375-reviews
- http://buyphen375.co.uk/
- http://buyphentermine375hq.com/phen375/phen375-fake/ (2)
- http://dietpillsbest.net/diet-pills-best-phen375
- http://www.healthcaffe.com/phen375-reviews/
- http://phen375reviewed.net/
- http://phen375scam.blog.com/ (3)
- http://phen375scam.info/
- http://phen375truth.com/
(1) ...which doesn't have a particularly good rating on http://www.mywot.com/en/scorecard/phen375.com (nothing to do with me, I've not actually rated any MoreNiche merchant or affiliate sites but many of the ones I've come across have been downvoted). Commenters (actually they do cross a line I think, rather racist) on Complaintwire aren't too happy with the company either.
(2) Most affiliate sites seem to hide or obscure the tracking code (it doesn't always show up in the page's source code but I might be missing something) but the website listed at (2) points to a TinyURL address and, if you've got preview switched on, you can see that it's clearly redirecting to http://track.moreniche.com/hit.php?w=137484&s=157 which then redirects to the Phen375 website.
(3) The link in this one is http://track.moreniche.com/hit.php?w=149938&s=157
Noticing the s=157 (I presume this is a MoreNiche code for the product) I wondered if I could find any more. I may be quite wrong about some of these, they may not actually be the code for a product (they might just be found on the same website as the product's name).
s=24 appears to be Size Genetics (some sort of 'male enhancement')
s=156 might be Acai berry
s=157 is presumably Phen375
s=174 might be Tava Tea
s=178 might be Capsiplex
Searching for a few of these also brings up a lot of links to spam-tracking websites.
Goodness knows what phentemine actually is though. The main selling website spells it that way and also references phenteRmine which is definitely not recommended for weight loss according to the British National Formulary (BNF, the guidance that doctors and nurses use when prescribing legal medicines) as it has interactions with all sorts of other prescription medications and shouldn't be used by a whole bunch of poeple with various other conditions. If someone's going to buy unlicensed pills on the internet these aren't the ones I'd be recommending.
However according to the company's website the product doesn't contain phentermine at all - there's a list of ingredients and we're told what each does but (again, typically) no evidence is provided that the pills actually achieve any of this miraculous weight loss. There's reference to 'sympathomimetic amine' which is also named as norepinephrine (noradrenaline). Assuming this survives digestion that would presumably increase the heart rate... doesn't sound that much fun.
s=178 might be Capsiplex
Searching for a few of these also brings up a lot of links to spam-tracking websites.
Goodness knows what phentemine actually is though. The main selling website spells it that way and also references phenteRmine which is definitely not recommended for weight loss according to the British National Formulary (BNF, the guidance that doctors and nurses use when prescribing legal medicines) as it has interactions with all sorts of other prescription medications and shouldn't be used by a whole bunch of poeple with various other conditions. If someone's going to buy unlicensed pills on the internet these aren't the ones I'd be recommending.
However according to the company's website the product doesn't contain phentermine at all - there's a list of ingredients and we're told what each does but (again, typically) no evidence is provided that the pills actually achieve any of this miraculous weight loss. There's reference to 'sympathomimetic amine' which is also named as norepinephrine (noradrenaline). Assuming this survives digestion that would presumably increase the heart rate... doesn't sound that much fun.
Yesterday I actually received email spam from someone selling Phen375. Unusually for spam this pleased me (I've been drafting this post on and off in spare moments for a couple of days so this is a nice finish for the post) and I've included a screenshot of it at the end. I think this might be the tracking code, but it's difficult to tell really, as I say they seem to be hidden and you have to 'triangulate' them a bit http://track.moreniche.com/hit.php?w=227379&s=157
Unless I'm mistaken this affiliate code w=227379 also appears to be involved in selling something called IntiVar Renewal gel... the green and red circles to the right of the green tick relate to the Web of Trust rating system which I have installed on Chrome:

Unless I'm mistaken this affiliate code w=227379 also appears to be involved in selling something called IntiVar Renewal gel... the green and red circles to the right of the green tick relate to the Web of Trust rating system which I have installed on Chrome:



I have spent the last 3 hrs trying to find some real consumer comments about Phen375 - none are available! All are somehow sponsored by or linked to the manufacturers - what a scam!
ReplyDeleteWell, yes ;) Despite the way in which the websites might present themselves (independent, review, 'the truth', 'don't buy it until you've read this' etc) they all seem to be just bridging pages to direct visitors to a sales page, from which the affiliate makes a commission.
ReplyDeleteIf you're feeling a bit nerdy...
********************************
If you can spot the tracking link as it appears (it shows up briefly in the status bar for me as the different bits of the page load) then this confirms it - there may well be organisations other than MoreNiche promoting this product but I only know of the track.moreniche.com code.
If you use Firefox then click Ctrl+Shift+K to bring up a tiny panel at the top of the webpage which shows you extra information about the page as it loads. First of all go to one of these bridging pages and then, just before you click on the 'buy' link (which will bring up the tracking code), use the Ctrl+Shift+K to open the window, then press 'buy' and watch. There's a high chance when you scroll back through the text that appears there that you'll see the track.moreniche.com phrase.
If you see the phrase "-moz-opacity" then I think this means someone's tried to hide information about the page elements and tracking codes... which is itself instructive ;)
Andrew Bailey asks:
ReplyDelete"I've seen a few sights claiming that it is legal and that it also doesn't require a prescription. I'm just concerned that perhaps these sites are scams, so does anyone have some information about whether or not Phen375 is legal? I want to try these but I don't want to give my money to a scam or break the law. Thanks!"
The comment above sounds perfectly genuine but as it was linked to a phen375 review site, which was embedded in Andrew's name, it's actually (admittedly quite subtle) spam.
ReplyDeleteMost spam comments are easy to spot because they're irrelevant and use poor English - sometimes they even include the link to the product in the comment but most sneak it into the name.
This comment looks exactly like the sort of comment I'd post - it's relevant, asks a valid question and uses pretty good English. But a quick hover over any blue links to check made it clear that this is just a ruse to get a link on my site. I admire the sneakiness ;)